Skip to content

Warmers

Colonial Candle wax melt warmer review

The only plate warmer we index that publishes both a timer and a named safety listing, from a brand with a real history and a listing that still leaves one number out.

By Scooter M.Published Sources last checked
A white ceramic dish on a wooden table in soft light

Disclosure — we earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick or what we say about them. We accept no samples and no sponsorship. How this site is funded.

The short answer

Buy it if you want a plate warmer that publishes a timer and a named safety listing - the combination campus housing rules ask for and almost nothing else in this price bracket states. The gap is that the listing never publishes a wattage, so its running cost cannot be computed the way we compute it for the warmers that print a number. Everything else here is better specified than the bracket it competes in.

Quick picks

Ranked picks for Colonial Candle wax melt warmer review
#ProductBest forPrice
01
Colonial Candle Wax Melt Warmer with Timer, 3-in-1 Electric Wax Melter

Colonial Candle Timer Warmer

A plate warmer with a published timer and a named third-party safety listing, which together answer the two things campus housing rules actually ask about.

Best for a strict housing rule
$14.38 View on Amazon

$15.99 · 10% off

#ad Prices come from the live data layer and are stamped with the date they were checked. Where no live price exists the button says "Check price" rather than showing an old number. How we are funded.

How we review, and what this is not

We have not run this warmer against a meter, a thermometer or a stopwatch. Nobody on this site tests hardware and our methodology says so plainly. What follows is a review of what Colonial Candle publishes, checked against the live listing, with the gaps named rather than filled in.

We also quote no star ratings and no review counts anywhere on this site. They move daily, they are trivially gamed, and a number we cannot verify is not evidence.

What the listing publishes

Published specification, read from the live listing
SpecWhat it saysWhat it means
Timer2 H, 4 H or 8 H settingsThree durations, stated. What happens at the end of one is not stated - see below.
HeatingBuilt-in metal heating plate, no bulbNothing to replace, ever. The enclosed-element format several housing policies specifically permit.
Safety listingSafety tested and ETL-certified through a nationally recognized OSHA labETL is Intertek's mark and stands alongside UL. Very few warmers in this bracket name one.
CapacityTakes wax melts, oils or jar candles up to 3.9 in diameterA genuine three-in-one, and 3.9 in covers most single-wick jars.
Cord36 inShort. Measure to the nearest outlet before you commit to a spot.
DishRemovable ceramicLifts out for cleaning, and takes a liner if you would rather not clean it at all.
Rated powerNot publishedThe one number missing, and the reason we cannot compute its running cost.
Every row is from the seller's own listing. Where it says nothing, we record that rather than estimating.

The ETL listing is the reason to pick it

In a bracket where most sellers name no safety listing at all, this one states ETL certification through a nationally recognized lab. That matters for two concrete reasons rather than as a reassurance.

The first is the recall record. The CPSC recalled about 730,000 electric candle warmers in 2012 after internal heating elements detached and melted the casing, with two fires reported - precisely the manufacturing failure a third-party listing exists to catch.

The second is that housing contracts ask for it. Of eight campus policies we read, one permits only warmers with an enclosed heating element and an automatic shut-off, and several require listed appliances generally. This warmer has the enclosed element and the named listing - dorm and rental rules has the quotes.

The timer, and what it does not say

The listing publishes three durations: 2, 4 and 8 hours. What it does not publish is what happens when one ends.

That sounds pedantic and it is the distinction this category runs on. "With timer" can mean a one-shot auto shut-off, a repeating 24-hour cycle, or a duration with no stated end behavior - three different products sold under one word. We separate them on what a warmer timer actually does.

In practice a duration timer that does not switch off would be a strange product. But we rank on what is written down, and what is written down here is durations. If a guaranteed shut-off is the feature you need - because you fall asleep with it on, or because a housing rule requires it in writing - the Marycele lamp states an auto shut-off explicitly, at the cost of a published 50 W bulb.

The missing wattage

This is the one real gap, and it is worth being precise about how much it costs you.

Without a rated power we cannot run this warmer through the arithmetic on how much electricity a wax warmer uses. For context, the plate warmers that do publish sit at 10 W and 24 W, costing about $3.72 and $8.94 a year at six hours a day. A plate warmer of this size is very probably in that range - but probably is not a number, and we will not print one.

Assumption, not a fact

Treating this warmer as comparable to a 10 to 25 W plate warmer is an inference from its format and size, not a specification. If running cost is the deciding factor in your purchase, buy a warmer that prints its rating instead.

Who should buy it, and who should not

Buy it if:

  • You want a timer and a named safety listing in the same budget warmer - it is the only one we index that has both.
  • You are buying for campus housing, where an enclosed element and a listed appliance are frequently what the contract asks for.
  • You want a warmer with nothing to replace. No bulb, ever.
  • You want one object that takes melts, oils or a small jar candle.

Skip it if:

  • Running cost is your deciding factor. Buy a warmer that publishes a wattage so you can actually compute it.
  • You need a guaranteed auto shut-off in writing. This listing publishes durations, not end behavior.
  • Your jars are wide. 3.9 inches covers most single-wick jars and not many three-wicks.
  • Your outlet is far away. A 36 inch cord is short, and an extension lead is its own problem - and a prohibited item in several dorms.

How it compares with the alternatives we index

This warmer is worth buying for a specific combination rather than for being best at any single thing. Here is where it sits against the others.

The Colonial Candle warmer against the warmers we index
Colonial CandleCandle Warmers Etc. plateMarycele lamp
Published wattageNoYes - 10 W or 24 WYes - 50 W
Timer2 / 4 / 8 h statedNone published2 / 4 / 8 h with stated auto shut-off
Safety listingETL stated on the listingUL or ETL claimed brand-wideNone named
BulbNone - metal plateNone on the plate models50 W GU10, two included
TakesMelts, oils or jars to 3.9 inMeltsJar candles, or melts in a dish
Each column reflects what that maker publishes, not what we measured. A blank in one column is not a criticism of the product - it is a gap in the listing.

The short version: buy this one for the timer-plus-listing combination, buy a Candle Warmers Etc. plate if you want a computable running cost, and buy the Marycele if you want to warm whole jar candles and can live with 50 W.

What we cannot tell you

  • How hot the plate runs. No surface temperature is published by this maker or any other in the category.
  • How long it lasts. No warranty term appears in the listing copy and no durability data is public.
  • What it draws. Covered above. It is the one specification we would most like to have.
  • Whether the timer shuts off. We can tell you the durations are published and the end behavior is not.

If any of those is a dealbreaker, the honest answer is that no warmer in this bracket fills them - not that a different one does.

The picks in full

01

Best for a strict housing rule

Colonial Candle Wax Melt Warmer with Timer, 3-in-1 Electric Wax Melter

Colonial Candle Wax Melt Warmer with Timer, 3-in-1 Electric Wax Melter

A plate warmer with a published timer and a named third-party safety listing, which together answer the two things campus housing rules actually ask about.

  • The listing states it is "Safety tested and ETL-certified through a nationally recognized OSHA lab". ETL is Intertek's mark and sits alongside UL as a recognized testing lab, which matters when a housing contract asks for a listed appliance.
  • No wattage is published anywhere on the listing, so we cannot compute its running cost the way we do for the warmers that print a number. Not published is what we record.
  • 2 / 4 / 8 hours is written down; end-of-timer behavior is not. If auto shut-off is the feature you need in writing, check before you buy or add an outlet timer.
  • A 36-inch cord is short for a dorm desk. Measure to the nearest outlet - an extension lead is itself a prohibited item on several of the campuses we read.

Skip this if

Your rule says bulb warmers only. This is a heating plate, which is the exact format those policies name as prohibited.

Published specifications

Rated power
Not published
Bulb
None - built-in metal heating plate Colonial Candle listing (retailer listing, checked 2026-09-02)No bulb means no proprietary replacement to source later, and it is the enclosed-element format that several housing policies specify.
Timer
2 / 4 / 8 hour timer Colonial Candle listing (retailer listing, checked 2026-09-02)The listing publishes the three durations but does not state what happens when one ends. We record durations only, rather than assuming a shut-off.
Capacity
Fits jar candles up to 3.9 in diameter; removable ceramic dish Colonial Candle listing (retailer listing, checked 2026-09-02)
Dimensions
Not published

Colonial Candle

Colonial Candle Timer Warmer

$14.38 View on Amazon

$15.99 · 10% off

#ad Price as of September 13, 2026. How we are funded

Questions people actually ask

Is the Colonial Candle wax warmer any good?

On published specification it is the best-documented plate warmer in its bracket: three timer durations, an ETL listing through a nationally recognized lab, an enclosed metal heating plate with no bulb, and a removable ceramic dish. The gap is that it never states a wattage, so its running cost cannot be computed.

Does the Colonial Candle warmer turn itself off?

The listing publishes 2, 4 and 8 hour timer settings but does not state what happens when a setting ends. We record durations rather than assuming a shut-off. If you need a shut-off stated in writing, the Marycele lamp we index publishes one explicitly.

How much does the Colonial Candle warmer cost to run?

We cannot tell you, because no wattage is published anywhere on the listing. For context, the plate warmers that do publish run 10 W to 25 W, which is roughly $3.72 to $9.31 a year at six hours a day and 17 cents per kilowatt-hour. Treating this one as comparable is an inference from its format, not a specification.

Will it fit a three-wick candle?

Probably not. The listing states it takes jar candles up to 3.9 inches in diameter, which covers most single-wick jars. Many three-wick jars are wider than that, so measure yours before ordering.

Is it allowed in a dorm?

It has the two features housing policies most often ask for - an enclosed heating element rather than an open coil or bulb, and a named third-party safety listing. Whether that is enough depends entirely on your own housing contract, and of eight policies we read, three banned every wax device outright.

Sources

Every factual claim on this page traces to one of these, or is labeled as an assumption. We have not tested these products - our method is on the methodology page.

  1. Colonial Candle wax melt warmer listing - published cleaning methods Colonial Candle. Retrieved September 6, 2026.
  2. Electric Candle Warmers Recalled by Provo Craft & Novelty Due to Fire Hazard (June 18, 2012) U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. Retrieved September 6, 2026.
  3. Electric Power Monthly, average retail price of electricity to residential customers U.S. Energy Information Administration. Retrieved September 2, 2026.

Everything in Warmers